Art is the proper task of life











{February 22, 2008}   Aliana at Crossroads

I was out of the blogsphere for a long time. I am not really sure why. I was asking myself what am I good at? Perhaps telling stories? Perhaps making up stories? At times it feels that even my whole life is made up. Does that even make a difference? In my post-modern meditations I was thinking, “Is it that the content of the things that I say matter or does it matter who I am?” I do not have a clear answer. Just like many other unresolved dilemmas in life perhaps it is best to also leave this dilemma unresolved. I thought about quiting blogging numerous times because I realized that I had lost focused. I did not know what I was doing but now I am back. I have decided to write a series of short stories for this blog.

Salaam :)

Recently, I almost gave up on writing as well, but for different reasons I guess. I wrote a lot of short stories and poems on my blog, but because of really painful experiences, I lost my inspiration and my focus.

I’m back now with a new blog. A new blog because it’s the only way I’m ever going to write again. It was a real struggle to post my first entry, but I managed to do it and now I have a total 6 new entries. Nothing creative yet, I feel like I still need more time. And even though I think my writing has lost some of its flare, I just tell myself its good that I’m at least writing something.

I believe that gifted writers are meant to write, and not even their self-doubt should keep them from sharing that gift. We all have special talents that must be shared because they have been breathed into us for no other reason :)

Looking forward to visiting your blog, take care!

– BM



leila says:

its great to have u back, i was happy seeing ur comment on my blog :) stay with us honey, we love to have u around! :)looking forward to read the stories !! :)



Haleem says:

you should only blog when you feel like it!



navcity says:

You shouldnt feel compelled to write anything for anyone else. write for catharsis, direction or focus. Write for the right reasons and it will come out well inshallah. You’ve bowled me over (I mean that in a strictly politically correct way of course)



Aliana says:

Everyone, thanks for your comments and encouragement. As usual I am a bit late to respond. :\



Leave a Reply

et cetera
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

