Art is the proper task of life











{January 28, 2007}   Women are deficient. What the @#%$?

Here is a “gem” (aka nonsense) from Abu Usamah, an American convert to Islam and misogynist. Now the question is was this person always a jerk or did he become like this after being exposed to a certain brand of Islam. I must iterate that the problem is not Islam but rather a certain type of interpretation of Islam. Here is the excerpt.

Abu Usamah: Allah has created the woman, even if she gets a Phd, deficient. Her intellect is incomplete, deficient. She may be suffering from hormones that will make her emotional.

Am I mad? You bet I am. Can these people just shut up for a change?



Working says:

I’d comment, but I am suffering from hormones right now and I fear I won’t be able to control my emotions. Hahaaaaaaaaa



monkey says:

I’ve heard the whole “women are hormonal which makes them dumb” out of men of all religions. I think these people were born stupid. Who cares which religion they converted to or not? I’m of the opinion that if you want to be a misogynist/bigot/racist you’ll find a way and interpretation that serves your purpose, no matter what your faith.



Haleem says:

Change his words to read “Allah has created Abu Usamah, even if he gets a Phd, deficient. His intellect is incomplete, deficient. He may be suffering from hormones that will make him emotional.”



Working says:

Monkey, I agree with you. I think it’s just more “out there” for us since we’re not exactly getting good press right now in general!



Maliha says:

Salamaat,
Haleem I love that reinterpretation🙂 He is an idiot, but has plenty of company which is plain scary!



monkey says:

Yeah, the press will pick up anything crazy a Muslim says, won’t they?

They should take a long hard look at the Christian right. Last I checked it wasn’t the Muslims in this country trying to ban the teaching of evolution and basic biology!!



Aliana says:

working: lol. I sympathize. I am having the same problem.😛 Also you are right, we do seem to be getting a lot of bad press lately. I guess the good deeds of Muslims should be more visible so that the ‘crazy’ Muslims do not get all the air time.

Haleem: That was brilliant. May Allah bless you.🙂

Monkey: You are right about people like that being in all religions and Islam getting bad press right now. In my case its like since its a person of my religion who is saying nonsense so it hurts moe.😦

Maliha: That’s scary indeed. May God help us!



monkey says:

Aliana, I know exactly what you mean. When I see newspapers run the standard “oh, here’s some crazy Hindu festival involving rats or urine!” pictures I cringe because these are the things that stand out in the mind of someone unfamiliar with the religion. It’s a combination of shame and irritation at the “crazy” faction combined with a healthy sense of indignation that 1/2 the time people in the West DON’T know what they are talking about when it comes to Eastern cultures. So they pick the example that’s most fun and provocative.

And it does hurt very much when you see people around you misunderstand a culture or faith that you really love and is a big part of your life.



Sumera says:

I always point out that these esteemed Imams and classical scholars, that people revere so highly obtained the majority of their learning from Aisha (ra), who’s narrations are accepted and agreed upon and is unanimously agreed she was impeccable in her understanding of the deen, and in its application and was a very intelligent woman.

So do they mean these Imams have been obtaining deficient knowledge? And have been passing it on? :p

Maybe Abu Usamah should study a bit more ~pat on back~ thatta boy.



ROFL! what idiots. Let’s just work on our PhD, and we will take care of our hormones later. lol



Suroor says:

Yep! That is the reason I discussed the hadith Abu Usamah is apparently using to make gis point. What can you say – he is Usamah’s father!🙂 (Usamah ka bhi baap hai!)



arafat says:

In all honestly, that man and his remarks don’t even deserve a bit of our time. Hence, I will waste no more words!



Aliana says:

monkey: (Sadly) You are right.😦 May be both Muslims and Hindus should work together against this kind of negative press.

Chimichanga: Is that really a good idea. The dissertation may have some defective reasoning in it because of the hormones.🙂

Sumera: I love your argument. This would also mean that they have been passing on deficient knowledge all this time.🙂

Suroor: ROTFLOL. You are a funny woman. (Usamah ka bhi baap hai!) This is a gem!

Arafat: True, true.



now aliana, aren’t you just being emotional!

its a shame that men like Abu Usamah have to cop your crap when quite clearly you lot are DEFICIENT!

say it with me, D-E-F-I-C-I-E-N-T



Aliana says:

D-E-F-I-C-I-E-N-T my fellow deficient sister. :p



tatepilot says:

Hi everybody! Does anybody know what is levitra? What a shirt? I go crazy about this!
Look Here



Gift says:

Maliha’s correct..there are too many men like this here in the UK, it’s scary. Sigh…it’s not Islam that’s the problem…it’s the muslims!!

Reminds me of that recent story about some madcap scholar at Al-Azhar coming up with a fatwa about adult breastfeeing …ughhh!

Whoops, sorry, my sarcasm must be a result of my hormones ;P



Aliana says:

Gift, I heard about the fatwa too. It was just plain weird. uuughhhhh indeed.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
