Art is the proper task of life











{February 19, 2007}   Bachelor Number Two

You know there are some prospects that I do NOT want to meet, especially the ones that I have come across in the real world and I know that we are poles apart in our worldview but this auntie did not take the hint and wanted me to see this really good Muslim guy at least once. My mom being the nicest lady in the world did not want to say no and told me that all that I had to do was to meet this guy once and just say no. Ok fine, whatever but this was not just any other guy, this was the uber-mullah of the neighboring campus so he was not technically in my school but I had seen him. To his credit he was not into partying or the whole girlfriend thing, so he was clean in this respect but he was one of those types who did not even return your salams and thought that women cannot become the president of MSA or that sisters should be segregated for their own good etc. He had even said something to the effect that almost all women are potential temptresses. He had some not so nice words for non-hijabi sisters. I could not let go a good opportunity to get even on the behalf of all the sisters with whom this guy had been mean. The following conversation may seem a bit cruel but believe me I had seen the guy sad thing to good, innocent, hijabi sisters

So I go delibrately go home on Saturday that weekend instead of Friday so that mom can’t cancel the meeting. Dad was in England or something that time so it was perfect. I come home and then mom is like, “What have you done to my daughter? Aliana why have you dyed your hair blue!” I casually replied, “Relax mom, its not like as if its permanent.” She goes, “But what about your prospect?” “Well you know I was going to say no anyway so why not make him say no as well.”
Mom didn’t really like the idea but she let him have my way.

So the guy shows up expecting a modest hijabi gal but meets the Amazonian Matriarch known as Aliana. The first shock is of course the hair and I got blue contacts just for the occasion.🙂 And I am also dressed in all red. He is skeptical but starts the conversation regarding how Islam takes care of everything and why we must keep our distance from the non-believers. This is a really bad way to start conversation with me. I go on and tell him all about my good relations with ‘non-believer’ friends and how in many ways they are better than many of the so-called Muslims. Then he tells me how he would like to live in a Muslim country in the Middle East away from Western corruption, to which add, “Cool, I have heard Dubai is the most happening place in the world right now.” That was when he came into the defensive mode and started criticizing the West and how Muslim women have been corrupted and why there should be complete segregation and women not driving makes sense and how I was the emblem was what was wrong with the society, to which I replied, “Well Mr. righteous that would not be that bad I was a guy han? If I was a guy and some white girl fell for me and then after a few months I leave her and get on with my life, that’s fine han? And I do this with many women and that is fine right? I know whose suggestion that was by the way. White women are people like us you know.” By this time he seems to be sick of me and says, “But she was not one of the muslimoon anyway.” Before leaving he tells my mom how Western I am. Whatever. Too bad he was not familiar with Simone de bouvier otherwise I would have thrown her in the conversation.



monkey says:

I find it sad that a fellow desi would avoid me because I’m not muslim😦.

Doesn’t the Koran even say there are virtuous non-believers or something like that??



Aliana says:

Girl I hope you are not talking about me. In your previous you never left the URL of your blog until now that is. (*Aliana is grevious, opens both arms to hug monkey*)



monkey says:

No, I’m talking about your wretched prospect. It seems sad to cut yourself off from your fellow man. No man is an island and all of that.

I don’t think one needs to go crazy or engage in sensual excess to have fun, but it does seem like being so angry all the time, to the extent of not even wanting friends and considering everyone as an “unbeliever” rather than as a fellow human being to whom it is possible to show compassion and friendship, is sad and antithetical to the principals of all the major world religions.



Haleem says:

Maybe I should introduce my prospect #1 to this guy. She wants segregation, he wants segregation, and maybe we all can segregate THEM from society lol



Pyari says:

I LOVED the blue hair! I could just picture it, a mullah coming with full beard and the Islamic topi-forget what its called-expecting a quite hijabi/niqabi and WHAM you’re there.

Thats AWESOME.

I can’t stand people like him who are ok with men being 21st century citizens, yet want women to remain in the 7th century.



'Liya says:

That’s hilarious! (the whole blue hair/red clothes thing, not his sexist and prejudiced thinking).

Your name is really pretty, what does it mean? I’ve never heard it before.

Nice blog🙂



Aliana says:

monkey, yeah its a sad story. Being angry all the time, I am like how do these people manage doing that. Seriously.

Haleem, that is an EXCELLENT idea. May be together we can even start a FUNdamental dating service.

Pyari, I can’t stand those men either. I will add that back in the 7th century Muslim women were not submissive as men would like us to believe today. I mean just read the stories of some of the female companions of the prophet (peace be upon him). Well we really don’t get to read those stories, although they are there, because men don’t want us to read them and get ideas.

Liya, welcome and thanks. Aliana means ‘Noble and Gracious.’



Sumera says:

Good one Aliana.
He should go live in a cave and eat dust for food.



fundamental dating service? Haram!

anyway, looks like you really know how to reel them in Aliana, i’m hoping for more aggravation on your side so that it translates to more entertainment on mine.



Aliana says:

Sumera, Thanks. People say that I can be intimidating.😀 As for him, I still hope that he mends his ways. I am an optimist.😉

>> fundamental dating service? Haram!
Well how about if we add some interest money also i.e., two harams make one halal. lol Just kidding.

>> looks like you really know how to reel them
Well actually its not the know how, I think its cuz of the fact that desis men have a thing for white color and I am part Caucasian but this is another story.

More entertainment? OMG, my life is entertainment now.:\ Ok, well if it makes someone happy. Well, to add, did I ever mention that I have tried blonde and pink hair as well?



Leave a Reply

et cetera
