Art is the proper task of life











{April 15, 2007}   Irony as the task of Life (Part I)

Reading a poem and the leaving comments on a recent post at Everything Is Eventual reminded me of a time when I was the “official” poetess of my crew, those were the days. I may not be that great in this task but hey every woman is entitled to freedom of expression or at least she should be. Now I am coming back from my poetic retirement and here is Aliana, the perpetuate, the victim, the master and the slave of irony. Enjoy. I was going through my notes and came across a quote by an old acquaintance so I thought this would be a good opportunity to imitate life again. This is for all of my friends who thought that art imitating life could not get weirder. Here is my conversation where we alternate.

Conversation
Aliana Mirza

Dare I say I missed the alphabets?
But at Zay, why did thee place thy bets?
“Life without prickings is no true life;”
Life sucks, this is the sage’s fife
Nay, self-discovery is what he preaches
Limit of my mind-reading thee breaches



Haleem says:

I like the last line the best.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
