Art is the proper task of life











{September 28, 2007}   Happy Smiling Muslims – Day 4

And so we celebrate Day 4 with the whirling dervishes in Turkey.

turk.jpg

Whirling dervishes perform at a shopping mall on the occasion of the holy month of Ramadan in Istanbul, Turkey, late Saturday, Sept. 22, 2007. Muslims all over the world are observing the fasting month of Ramadan abstaining from consuming food and drinks from dawn to dusk. (AP Photo/Ibrahim Usta)



Manas says:

I’ve seen pictures of dancing darvishes before. Don’t remember where.



aMmAr says:

what a beautiful sight.

Have you seen the real deal? I guess you have..



monkey says:

I am going to Turkey next year. I’m so excited, you have no idea. Can’t wait to walk around Sultanahmet.



Haleem says:

I am loving this new series that you have going.

As for the dervishes, according to the Thousand Nights they have magical powers such as flying carpets and three-wish genies.



Aliana says:

Ammar, actually I haven’t but Turkey is on the list of cities to visit.

monkey, cooool. That is exciting. I wish I could be there.

Haleem: Thanks. As for the the Thousand Nights, may be I should get a flying carpet myself and fly overt to Turkey.



Shahrzad says:

When i see Whirling dervishes, i remember Abraham movie, that old man who made a jewish boy muslim by his goodness..
I read the book too. It is one of short stories in “Flowers of Wisdom” (they translated to persian with this name) by Eric Emmanuel Schmitt.. Name of story is “Mr Abraham and Flowers of Quran”..
I liked the story more than movie, it shows other side of muslim community, full of kindness and sincerity..🙂



Aliana says:

Shahrzad, I haven’t seen that movie I should pock it up. Again thanks for the information.



aMmAr says:

I think it was ‘Monsieur Abraham’;starring Omer Sharif



Shahrzad says:

Oh true Ammar. Monsieur Abraham..🙂



Aliana says:

Monsieur Abraham, ok got it. I will keep that in mind. Thanks Ammar, thanks Shahrzad



Leave a Reply

et cetera
